Award Winners Announced

The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians
Contact: Jenna Huntsberger at 206-890-5314

Congratulations to the AANP Award Winners

Washington, DC (August 26, 2009) — The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP) celebrated its 24th Annual Convention & Exhibition at the Greater Tacoma Convention and Trade Center, August 19-22. Capping off the event was the AANP Gala Reception and Dinner where members gathered to celebrate the advances in naturopathic medicine and to recognize those individuals and companies that have made valuable contributions to the field of naturopathic medicine through their leadership, integrity, and support of the profession. Congratulations to all 2009 AANP Award Winners! 

The Physician of the Year Award was granted to Timothy Birdsall, ND, FABNO, for his longstanding leadership within the AANP; his legislative, policy and research initiatives; and his visionary integration of naturopathic medicine into health care. Dr. Birdsall is the Vice President of Integrative Medicine for Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA), and was a pioneer in expanding the role of naturopathic medicine in the treatment of cancer. Dr. Birdsall also serves on the board of the Oncology Academy of Naturopathic Physicians. The Physician of the Year Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding leadership, modeling, ethics, and individual achievement.

The Corporation of the Year was awarded to Integrative Therapeutics, Inc., a Silver Member of the AANP and longstanding supporter of naturopathic medicine. ITI has demonstrated a strong commitment to the naturopathic profession by developing and manufacturing high quality supplement products. ITI also developed the innovative STAIR residency program, which provides fully paid, one year residencies to recent naturopathic medical school graduates. ITI’s contribution to AANP’s production of “Discoveries in Alternative Medicine: Naturopathic Medicine” was timely and invaluable. The Corporation of the Year Award is given to a corporation who has demonstrated long-term support of the AANP and the naturopathic medical profession, and exhibits exceptional leadership in delivering quality products to naturopathic doctors and consumers. 

The President’s Award was awarded to Janice Lipsen, the AANP's federal lobbyist, who has been a tireless advocate for the AANP on Capitol Hill and in the Federal government. Ms. Lipsen has provided invaluable counsel to the AANP on its federal initiatives, including the AANP's resolution H. Con Res. 58, which would transform the health care system to incorporate principles of wellness and prevention. The President’s Award is granted at the discretion of the president to individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to the profession.

The Vis Award was granted to Dr. Dickson Thom for his commitment to the Healing Power of Nature as a guiding force in his work. Dr. Thom is a full time professor at the National College of Natural Medicine, teaching clinical and physical diagnosis, gastroenterology, neurology, and practical endocrinology. In his work at NCNM, Dr. Thom has been an invaluable teacher and mentor, and has cultivated a generation of promising new naturopathic physicians. The Vis Award was developed in remembrance of Dr. Bill Mitchell, and is granted to individuals who represent the Vis, the Healing Power of Nature, as demonstrated through their work, life, and community service.
* * *
The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians is a professional association that strives to make naturopathic medicine available to every American, and to increase recognition of naturopathic physicians as the identified authorities on natural medicine. Our members include accredited schools of naturopathy, students, physicians, and individual and corporate supporters, participating independently or though 40 state-level affiliate organizations. Learn more at